Our Branches - Chandigarh & Pune

Online & Offline Courses - Get - NDA Expert Guidance

North Atlantic Treaty Organization or Atlantic Alliance (NATO)

It is an international political and military organization with the aim of guaranteeing the freedom and security of its members through political and military means. 

NATO’s Command Structure is under the authority of the Military Committee.
The NCS consists of two strategic commands: Allied Command Operations (ACO) and Allied Command Transformation (ACT).

Created in 1949 as a bulwark against the former Soviet Union, NATO has since grown to 30 countries—many of which were part of the Soviet Union or its satellites.

It is an alliance of 30 countries

Albania (2009) Belgium (1949) Bulgaria (2004) Canada (1949) Croatia (2009) Czech Republic (1999) Denmark (1949) Estonia (2004) France (1949) Germany (1955) Greece (1952) Hungary (1999) Iceland (1949) Italy (1949) Latvia (2004) Lithuania (2004) Luxembourg (1949) Montenegro (2017) Netherlands (1949) North Macedonia (2020) Norway (1949) Poland (1999)  Portugal (1949) Romania (2004) Slovakia (2004) Slovenia (2004) Spain (1982) Turkey (1952) United Kingdom (1949) United States (1949)

Although Nato has no commitment to deploy troops to a non-member country, it has sent forces to neighbouring countries and publicly backed Ukraine.

India is not a member of NATO because it is a firmly non-aligned country and stakes its international reputation on remaining non-aligned. This way, India can enjoy huge trade with China, the Middle East, the US and Europe, all that while having access to Russian and American weapons.

India along with China and UAE abstain from US-backed UNSC resolution condemning Russia.

United Nations Security Council

The United Nations Security Council is one of the six principal organs of the United Nations, charged with ensuring international peace and security, recommending the admission of new UN members to the General Assembly, and approving any changes to the UN Charter.

It has 15 Members, and each Member has one vote. Under the Charter of the United Nations, all Member States are obligated to comply with Council decisions.

The Security Council originally consisted of 11 members—five permanent members (the Republic of China [Taiwan], France, the Soviet Union, the United Kingdom, and the United States) and six nonpermanent members elected by the UN General Assembly for two-year terms.

Veto power: What is it and how many times Russia has used it in favour of India Only the permanent members of the UNSC can use veto power.

There are a total of five permanent members in the UNSC.

Russia has used veto power to support India over the Kashmir issue.

The veto power in UNSC

Five nations – The United States, the United Kingdom, China, France, and the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (USSR) (succeeded in 1990 by Russia) played a key role in the establishment of the United Nations, and that is why they enjoy certain special privileges in the UN. They are the permanent member states at the UNSC, and also have a special voting power known as the ‘right to veto’.

All five permanent members have exercised the right of veto.

Usage of Veto power by other members

The veto power has been used by the other permanent members of the UNSC, namely the United States, the United Kingdom, China and France as well over the years. The US had cast its first veto in 1970, and to date, has used the veto power 82 times.

The UK used the veto power for the first time in 1956, during the Suez Crisis, and to date, has cast veto 31 times. France used the veto for the first time in 1956 and has used it 17 times so far. China has used the veto 18 times. One was used by the Republic of China (ROC) and the remaining 17 have been cast by the People’s Republic of China after it succeeded ROC as a permanent member in 1971.

For more visit www.rncareergroup.com

Visit: http://rncareergroup.blogspot.com/2022/02/conflict-between-russia-and-ukrainefull.html

Leave a Reply

Quick Enquiry
close slider

    Call Now Button